Locos Dominated Early 2000s UFL

by UFL Staff

 Head Coach, Jim Fassel, Las Vegas Locomotives, 2010

ATLANTA, GA-- The Las Vegas Locomotives are the most successful United Football League (UFL) franchise to ever operate under the UFL banner. The Locomotives won three league championships during the early 2000s and are the only three-time champs in league history. 

Led by veteran NFL coach Jim Fassel, the Locos would dominate its UFL peers with an overall regular season record of 18 wins and 7 losses. 

The city of Las Vegas is no stranger to spring league football the city has been the location of numerous spring football teams and leagues that have popped up and fizzled. Yet, with the arrival of the Locos, the experience would certainly be different. 

From the opening game in franchise history, the Locos would begin their dynasty with a dominant performance over the California Redwoods with a 30-17 victory in front of 18,000 fans in Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas. The Locos would carry this momentum throughout the 2009 campaign going 4-2 during the regular season. The team would follow a strong regular season with a win over the Florida Tuskers to capture their first league championship. 

The Locos would win back-to-back titles in 2010. After a 5-3 regular season, the Locos would meet and defeat the Florida Tuskers for the second time in the UFL championship game. 

After a disappointing 2011 season, the Locos would be awarded the title of the best team for the 2012 campaign. The league was forced to cease operations during the 2012 campaign for financial reasons, which allowed the Locos to be named UFL champs as they were the only remaining undefeated team at the time of the shutdown. 

In the eight seasons of the competition held under the UFL banner, the Las Vegas Locomotives are without doubt the best franchise in league history. 

For the latest news and information, please continue to visit uflfootball.com